Running at 6,062 feet

One of the first days here I decided to head out on a run to see how bad the elevation was going to affect me. I made it 0.71 miles before being completely out of breath and calling it quits.

Today (6 days later) I managed to do 2 miles at just below 10min/mile pace ( a little slower than usual for me) feeling quite comfortable. I’m not sure if the improvement to my lung function at this altitude is coming quickly or slowly because I really have nothing to compare it to, but feeling improvement is encouraging.

 

Total mileage this week was 7 miles, average pace was around 10min/mile.

 

There are many nice parks here to run at. I’ve explored two and have coined Lion’s Park as my favorite.

1 lap is a little over 1.5 miles and the paved path is relatively flat. There are always other runners/bikers out which is always nice.  Cheyenne actually has a nice paved bike trail that goes around the whole city. I really want to get a bike soon ;).

The weather in the morning has been absolutely gorgeous.  The sun rises between 5 and 5:30 AM which is a foreign concept to someone who has lived on the east coast her whole life. It’s about 60 degrees and breezy in the morning and the temperature gets up to the mid 80’s during the day. The temperature creeps back down in the evening and we typically open our windows around 7 and let the cool breeze come it.  The sun sets at the normal time- around 8:30 or so.

I really thought the early sunrise would bother me but the more I think about it, it’s wonderful for early morning runs. I never have to worry about not being visible to cars!

My goal for next week is to run 10 miles total and to work up to a “long run” of 3 miles.

I also start work Monday! Wohoo! I’m pretty excited about it!

About runningthrough2011

I'm an epidemiologist with a recent 55 pound weight loss and a new love for running. My goal to stay motivated in 2011 is to do one race a month for the entire year. Welcome to my page!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

