Killing time in Key West…wait..What?

Yesterday at 4:30 AM Matt and I began our trek to Key West. Matt had to come here for work so I decided to tag along to lay on a beach.

The weather was beautiful and surprisingly cooler and less humid than Tampa.

The water was also amazing. Very clear and the perfect temperature.

After spending a little too much time in the sun (I fell asleep and my back got burnt ) I moved under a palm for shade.

It eventually started raining, then pouring, and I was stuck on the beach without anywhere to go :(.

I ended up intruding on a group of 50-something year olds who had rented a covered pick-nick area.  Hopefully they didn’t mind. I had my camera and phone with me and couldn’t afford to let them get wet. After about 10 minutes of downpour Matt finally got off of work and picked me up.

We checked into our hotel and got ready for dinner.

We originally planned to go to Crabby Dicks but our cab driver informed us that they closed so he recommended Conch Republic Seafood Restaurant.  Matt really wanted raw oysters and I don’t eat seafood so I had a burger.

I had a pina colada with my meal.

After dinner we decided to explore the island.

I unfortunately got sick from dinner. Side note: it amazes me that Matt can eat raw seafood and not get sick yet I eat possibly the most common food in America and get sick.

Today I’m taking it easy and enjoying the random things in Key West before Matt gets off work. Then we’re heading to Miami for a couple of hours then home. I miss my pugs so much.

The most random thing about Key West: Roosters. Everywhere.

Have you taken any vacations lately? Where is your favorite vacation spot?  

I have to say mine was Italy. We went to all of the major areas: Florence, Venice, Rome, Cecilia. I’d have to say my favorites were all but Rome. We actually passed by a park where police were surrounding a body. A teenager had apparently OD’d on heroin and still had the tourniquet on her arm. Ew.

About runningthrough2011

I'm an epidemiologist with a recent 55 pound weight loss and a new love for running. My goal to stay motivated in 2011 is to do one race a month for the entire year. Welcome to my page!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Killing time in Key West…wait..What?

  1. Jena says:

    Super jealous of your KW trip! My friend is moving to KW on July 5th!!!!! AH! She said the weather is always cooler there and it never gets as cold inthe winter. I didn’t believe her, so I googled it. It’s true. the lowest low they’ve ever had was forever ago and it was only 41! How is that even possible? I dream of living in the Keys..

Leave a Reply

