The Proposal

Sunday, the day after Matt’s birthday, Matt suggested we go to the beach in the evening for a beach walk.  This is something we’ve done many, many times throughout our relationship because it’s one of my favorite times to go to the beach. It was unusually cold and windy so we found a spot to sit against a dune in order to block some of the wind.

The sky was beautiful but a little cloudy:

Matt waited until no one was around and then said, “I have something for you”.

He then pulled the ring box out of his pocket, took the ring out, and tried to put it on my finger! LOL, all while crying.  I told him, “You have to ask first!”.

So he asked if I would marry him and of course I said yes.

I LOVE my ring!  My fingers are tiny (size 4.5) so we actually went a few weeks ago to see which kind of rings looked best on my fingers.  The bigger ones that I initially wanted looked absolutely ridiculous on my finger.  When I put this ring on I instantly knew it was the one.  It’s 1/2 carat with white gold from Zales.

The Wedding

We have not set a date for the wedding and I don’t intend to until I start a job.  There’s no point in planning a wedding I can’t pay for.  I do, however, know the theme and colors I want.

I want a beach wedding

With bright, cheerful colors:

I want a simple, elegant, white cake accented by flowers. This one is pretty much exactly what I want:

I have no idea what kind of dress I want. I would like lace but I know since I haven’t tried anything on I don’t know what works best for my body.

As for now I’m just enjoying having the ring on my finger…well when I’m not afraid to wear it.  Here’s a list of places I don’t wear my ring:

1. The gym- I usually lift weights and don’t want to scratch or scuff it on any of the bars

2. The shower- I’ve worn rings in the shower before and they always get caught in my hair

3. Cleaning anything

4. Cooking- Especially when I have to chop a lot of things or I’m working with meat

Lightning game 5 is tonight! Hopefully they beat Boston!!!! Let’s go Bolts!  Are you following the Stanley Cup playoffs? Who are you rooting for?

***All non-me pictures from this post were found at theknot.com

About runningthrough2011

I'm an epidemiologist with a recent 55 pound weight loss and a new love for running. My goal to stay motivated in 2011 is to do one race a month for the entire year. Welcome to my page!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The Proposal

  1. Angela says:

    I LOVE proposals, and weddings, and all things lovey-dovey! Congratulations! You’re ring is beautiful, and your ideas for your wedding so far are lovely!

  2. Jena says:

    YAY! Congrats!!! Your ring is gorgeous!! I also have small fingers (size 4) and it was really hard trying on rings bc nothing fit and everything looked absolutely ridiculous.

    I got married on the beach, in clearwater, at Sand Key Park. Our wedding colors were bright pink & orange.. We had a really small ceremony, then had a reception later that afternoon for everyone. I have some pictures in my blog somewhere.. Probably in Feb 2010; but if you want to see some other pictures email me @ LIBKJENA @ Yahoo (dot) com

    Congrats again!

  3. Amber says:

    Congratulations!!! The ring looks beautiful on and I love the wedding colors.

  4. Carolyn H. says:

    CONGRATS! Great story and too funny that he tried to get away with not asking. I made it clear to my husband I wanted a “get on your knee” type of proposal. It was perfect, and so romantic.

    Unfortunately for my H’s checkbook, I have big hands, size 7.5 fingers, so I needed a little more something on my finger. Poor guy. Ha.

  5. So sweet! I’m so happy for you 🙂 Those colors are beautiful, and a beach wedding would be amazing!

  6. Jessica says:

    That’s amazing, congratulations! My fiance proposed in December on the beach too 🙂 Enjoy planning – it is a lot of fun!

Leave a Reply

