Learning from optimistic people.

I have a confession to make. I’m a pessimist. I always think of the worse that can happen, always worry, and then get depressed.  I don’t know why but I’m trying to figure that out. Yesterday I lounged around and skipped class because the thought of possibly not getting the job in Baltimore made me so depressed I was nauseated.  I haven’t heard from the job but I will probably call about it today or Monday as their last interview was just this Tuesday.  I suffered with depression some in undergrad which could probably, at least in part, be blamed on my poor diet and lack of exercise or anything else good for my body. I haven’t felt the way I felt yesterday in years. The root cause is my negativity, now that I know that I need to attack it with full force.

I know that pessimism is only hurting me but changing your mental processes is hard!  I know I can do it, I had to in order to lose the 55 pounds that I did.  I think losing weight was easier because there is a ton of educational material regarding nutrition and exercise (some good, some bad).  Educating myself was key for successful weight loss.

Changing your attitude, though? I’m finding that to be a lot more difficult.  Negativity won’t help me get where I need to be in life but positivity can make the struggles more bearable.

I’m making it my goal to study (for lack of better word) my optimistic friends to see how they do things, how they think about things.

I’ll leave you with two quotes, the first tweeted by Caitlin this morning:

“Courage is trying when you know you can lose”

And since I’m a hockey fan (PS. Lightning made it to the playoffs!!), here’s one by Wayne Gretzky:

“You miss 100% of the shots you never take”

And a cute picture of Fang after he dug a huge hole in the back yard (bad boy!)

What tips do you have for staying/becoming optimistic? Have any pessimists been successful converting to optimism?

About runningthrough2011

I'm an epidemiologist with a recent 55 pound weight loss and a new love for running. My goal to stay motivated in 2011 is to do one race a month for the entire year. Welcome to my page!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Learning from optimistic people.

  1. Jena says:

    I am also a pessimist, but I have really been working on being more positive. My job has helped me to become a more positive person. Most of the patients I see have some form of cancer, or have just had a pretty major surgery. There is no place for negativity in my job. I have to remain positive, and cheery even on days when I don’t feel like it. I really believe this job has helped me to overcome my shyness, and negative nelly attitude.

    I don’t have any real tips. My attitude change was kind of

Leave a Reply

