Long run

So after a couple days of procrastination letting my tibia rest I finally did my long run. This run was amazing from the minute I started it. I had absolutely no tibia pain, I felt absolutely amazing mentally and physically. I didn’t feel like I was mentally having to push myself through it. I hope I have the same feeling when I do my half because my pace was amazing!

Also, without even thinking about it I had (mostly) negative splits:

9:38, 9:32, 9:32, 9:26, 9:23, 9:18, 9:17, 9:15, 9:14, 9:10, 9:22, 9:13.

I don’t think I’ll be able to do this again for the Iron Girl Half because we have to run over 3 causeways and I suck at hills!!

Unfortunately, my knee is now paying for this run. At mile 9 my left knee started getting very stiff.  At mile 10 it started to relax again and held off until I finished running. After I ran I stretched and then drove home.  I guess keeping my knee bent in my car for 10 minutes wasn’t what my body wanted because when I got out of the car I felt like I couldn’t walk.  I’ve iced it several times but it doesn’t seem to be making that much of a difference .

😦

 

Hopefully the pain goes away soon and I can move normally again.

Since running wasn’t the only thing I procrastinated about this weekend I need to jet and get some last minute homework finished. Have a good week!

About runningthrough2011

I'm an epidemiologist with a recent 55 pound weight loss and a new love for running. My goal to stay motivated in 2011 is to do one race a month for the entire year. Welcome to my page!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Long run

  1. Those are some seriously fast mile times! If I could hit those for 12 miles I would be a happy gal 🙂

  2. Heidi Nicole says:

    Sounds like a great long run…at this rate you are completely set for your half!

    I’ve noticed that if I drive somewhere to run and then drive back home I am always worse for the wear when I get out of my car at home. I end up hobbling into the house when I was perfectly fine plopping into my car after the run. I try to stretch but it doesn’t really help until I’m home and not near the seat of a car!

Leave a Reply

