Awesome 10k and a PUG PARADE!!

I ran the Strawberry Classic 10k today.  This was my first 10k and I actually ran it under my friends name in a different age group because she found out she had to work after she registered.  The race was not chip-timed which was weird!  It was a very small race and the start was just a few miles from my house which is awesome because I didn’t have to get up super early.  I have no pictures until some get posted because my regular photographer (Matt) decided to sit this one out.

So basically, I arrived 45 minutes early, picked up my number and t-shirt, walked the t-shirt back to my car, walked to the porta-potties, lined up at the “start line” (basically just the race director saying “We’ll start here”) and then I was off.

The 5k and 10k runners started at the same time so there was a little weaving at the beginning. Not too bad though because the race was pretty small.  At around mile 2 the 5k runners split off which was about 80% of the runners I’d say.  After that my mind quieted down and I felt like I was just running for fun.  The course was excellent and took us through shaded, beautiful neighborhoods.  There were a couple of hills but you can see from my splits the biggest was mile 6.

Splits:

Mile 1: 9:23

Mile 2: 9:00

Mile 3: 8:58

Mile 4: 9:17

Mile 5: 9:21

Mile 6: 9:55

Mile 0.23: 8:38

Time: 57:57 Average pace: 9:18.

I feel like I rocked this race.  I feel like for what I’m capable of 9:18 average for 6 miles is pretty damn good for me. I wanted to keep a 9:20 pace but I thought the goal was pushing it. Little did I know I could actually do it!  I feel like without the hills I could have easily done better, too!

 

Immediately after crossing the finish line we had to write out times down on a piece of paper and submit it I guess so they could give awards.  I wrote my time, submitted the paper, grabbed a Mix (gross), a water, and a free quart of strawberries and then I immediately left in order to go home and get to the pug parade which was about an hour away in Sarasota.  The race, despite being so small, actually appeared to have a really good post-race party and I was kind of disappointed I didn’t get to stay.

The pug parade was well worth it though!  Here’s the event in pictures:

The king

A lion- My favorite. I love his face in this picture!

Charlie Sheen!! His hoodie says "Winning" and he has a wig

Huge pug

How cute is this puppy?

About runningthrough2011

I'm an epidemiologist with a recent 55 pound weight loss and a new love for running. My goal to stay motivated in 2011 is to do one race a month for the entire year. Welcome to my page!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Awesome 10k and a PUG PARADE!!

  1. Awesome race!! That is a seriously good pace for 6 miles. You rocked it!

Leave a Reply

