Sub 9…finally!

Yesterday I did something that I did not think I could do. I ran 5 miles at an average of 8:44 pace!!! Crazy what you can set your mind to.  Just to refresh your minds, I ran a 5 mile RACE in January at only a 9:37 pace. That’s almost a full minute off of each mile!

Here’s my stats from the ijustran app:

Courtney just added a run on 2011/03/08 – distance: 5.01 miles in 0:43:48

went with: No one Location: Flatwoods Mainly: Tempo it felt great – Starting to get some speed back. Feels good. Pace: 8:44.6/mile
This run definitely boosted my confidence for the 10k that’s in 10 days.
…..and because all blog posts without pictures suck:
About runningthrough2011

I'm an epidemiologist with a recent 55 pound weight loss and a new love for running. My goal to stay motivated in 2011 is to do one race a month for the entire year. Welcome to my page!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sub 9…finally!

  1. It’s crazy how fast you are getting! How often do you do speedwork a week? I think I need to start doing whatever you’re doing- I want to be that fast 🙂

    • I do speedwork once a week, usually a tempo run but sometimes intervals on the treadmill. I never thought I could be that fast so I’m thinking it just happened that my body was just in sync. I also kept repeating to myself that it would be uncomfortable but that’s how you get faster and I think that helped. I also stopped at mile 2 and 3 for a quick rest and water.

Leave a Reply

