Living the broke college life.

I’m in my last semester of grad school.  Translation= I’m broke.  I worked in high school and all through undergrad.  During undergrad I actually saved enough money to last me through grad school but that money has slowly been dwindling.  I have been looking for ways to save money and noticed that some other bloggers have started couponing.  After watching countless youtube videos of people buying hundreds of dollars of food for about $30 I decided to give it a try.  I went to thekrazycouponlady.com and read some tips for beginners, looked at my weekly ads, and printed some coupons.  The coupons handed out at the expo for gasparilla also came in handy.

So here’s the loot from my first extreme couponing trip:

Included:

  • 4 boxes of Kleenex tissues
  • 4 cans of hunts diced tomatoes
  • colgate total advanced toothpaste
  • opti-free replenish drops
  • and kotex tampons (18 ct)

Total before coupons: 26.79

Paid:

$2.56.

How crazy is that? I saved over 90%!! The tampons were on sale for 1.99 and the gasparilla coupon was for $2 off so technically they paid me a penny for buying them!

This is definitely now a challenge for myself to save at least 70% every time I go to the grocery store.  Why pay money when you don’t have to?!?!?

Do you coupon? Any crazy savings?

Check out this video to see what couponing is capable of…amazing!!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P-BsjPjm2bo

About runningthrough2011

I'm an epidemiologist with a recent 55 pound weight loss and a new love for running. My goal to stay motivated in 2011 is to do one race a month for the entire year. Welcome to my page!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Living the broke college life.

  1. This is crazy. Like 90% of my cart is produce… how do I use coupons for that?

    • I haven’t figured that out yet but you can price match at certain places. From what I’ve researched things that you never really have to pay for are laundry detergent, toothpaste, tooth brushes, paper towels, toilet paper, deodorant, shampoo/conditioner, body wash or soap, and cleaning supplies. Publix makes it the easiest because they let you stack coupons and take competitor coupons…so you can do one of their bogos with a store coupon and a manufacturer coupon and get the product for free or very close to it.

    • Starting tomorrow at publix you can get boca meatless products for $0.33/box by stacking a target coupon (target.com) and a smartsource coupon (smartsource.com). You can also get Uncle Ben’s boil in a bag rice for $0.15/box if you have coupons from Sunday news papers from 2/13 and 1/9. I unfortunately don’t have the news paper coupons but I will be cashing in on that boca deal! Not produce but is vegetarian friendly 🙂

  2. Geez, I need to start couponing! I’m a broke college student as well 🙂

Leave a Reply

