A deeper kind of post.

Disclaimer: I am not trying to start a conversation or bash anyone or anyone else’s blog in anyway.  That’s why I am only including my own comment and conclusions regarding my own blog. I believe the blog world is there for support, not negativity. I also want to make a note that blogs are personal opinions, beliefs, workouts, and diets and just because I do something a certain way doesn’t mean it’s appropriate for other people.

After reading healthyashley’s blog post I left the following comment:

I’ve been reading your blog for a long time and don’t think I’ve commented often. I appreciate that you took on this post with tact. I don’t think anything you said was rude. However, after reading everyone’s comments I’ve come to one conclusion: Everyone seems so focused on looks and not health. It’s disheartening to read “If I were thin….” There is a big difference between thin and healthy. If you’re obese and you lose weight you improve your overall health, you can reverse diabetes and CVD, and you can relieve achy joints. There are many biochemical factors that improve as your overall health improves including depression and even dementia in later life. Does this mean you’re squeezing into a size two? No. Does this mean your quality of life will enhance? Absolutely. Can weight loss if you’re obese make you happy? Yes because your health improves. A healthy body= a happy body. Does being thin make you happy? Not necessarily. Does being overweight make you unhappy? Not necessarily. In general, I agree that healthy living blogs are conformed to a certain image instead of focusing on the medical sense of health. Personally, I think if you’re overweight and you want to lose weight you’ll have more success and feel better about yourself if you do it for health and not image.

To the girl that wrote post in which you’re discussing:
I’ve been on the obese side, I was a happy girl. I entered graduate school in public health, learned about health preventive factors to different health outcomes and decided to change my life. I’m 5’2 and went from 175 to 122. I’m not rail thin, I don’t freak out when the scale moves, and I’ve learned how awesome a natural, fresh diet can make you feel. Am I happier in general? Not necessarily. Am I happier that my health has significantly improved and I’m able to physically do more things? Absolutely. I’ve also dated wonderful men when I was overweight and currently. If you really must lose weight to impress a man what kind of a relationship would that turn out to be?”

I whole-heartedly believe in everything I wrote in that comment but I got to wondering if this is the image I display in my blog? The answer: no, especially not the last post which was indeed image focused.  I want a STRONGER body (health) vs. I want a tighter body (image).  I should have presented the first instead of the second on the previous entry.

So what does this mean?  It means I will not focus ANY blog entry on image.  After all, we have enough image focus in every other aspect of life, right? I will bring a strong health focus and include more health-related information.  I read many, many, many nutritional studies for both class and my own knowledge.  I plan on posting information from studies, articles, and other sources.

I’m a strong believer in knowledge is power. I mean think about it, how can you improve your health if you don’t know how?

This will benefit both you as readers and me because I think it will add a little more substance to the blog and I also really enjoy learning about nutrition, physiology, and overall health.

I hope you’ll enjoy the new outlook of runningthrough2011!!

About runningthrough2011

I'm an epidemiologist with a recent 55 pound weight loss and a new love for running. My goal to stay motivated in 2011 is to do one race a month for the entire year. Welcome to my page!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A deeper kind of post.

  1. I definitely appreciate this post! I’m trying to stop worrying about my weight and focus on getting healthy 🙂

  2. Kara says:

    This is great! I even hate blogs with “skinny” or “thin” in the name (shhh don’t tell anyone) 🙂

Leave a Reply

