1st Race of 2011

I got up at 4:40 this morning to have breakfast and drink coffee before leaving at 5:20 to get to the race.  Checking the weather I discovered it would be a frigid 32 degrees during my race. We got to the race around 6:20, I got my chip and headed back to my car. I admit, I didn’t want to race, I wanted to go lay back down under my covers.

Running from downtown over the causeway was not bad at all. It was at the beginning of the race, my legs were fresh, and the climb was gradual.  After crossing the causeway we headed down to the roundabout then back.  Coming back over the causeway was tough! My legs were tired and I really think it’s a much steeper climb (or at least it felt like it). I was maintaining about a 9:35 until I came back over the causeway. I finished, unofficially, at 48:06 (9:37 average pace).  Overall I wish I could have done better but considering the cold temperature and the fact that I haven’t been running that much because I’ve been sick, I’ll take it.

My camera died so when I get the official photos I will post them.

About runningthrough2011

I'm an epidemiologist with a recent 55 pound weight loss and a new love for running. My goal to stay motivated in 2011 is to do one race a month for the entire year. Welcome to my page!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 1st Race of 2011

  1. That’s an awesome time, especially considering the weather and your illness! I would have gone straight to bed if I had to run under those conditions. Congrats!

  2. Congrats on your first race of 2011! I’ve raced over that bridge a handful of times, and I agree. Going is just fine, coming back hurts like hell.

  3. lifeisbeachykeen says:

    Congrats on a great race! Yes, I would agree that the climb back up that stupid causeway is steeper on the way back. It could actually be more of an incline, or it’s just that we are so tired by time we get to it. My vote is that it’s actually more of an incline, that makes me feel better anyways.

Leave a Reply

