The good ol’ hockey game, is the best game you can name.

When I was a kid for as long as I can remember my dad, brother, and I would drive an hour away two nights a week for my brother’s hockey practice. Growing up in Virginia, the dominant sport was, of course, football. However, there were a select few who got together to play travel ice hockey from the area. So I’ve never really enjoyed watching any other sport besides hockey. My brother played on the travel team all throughout elementary and middle school.  He went to a prep school in MN to play on an ice hockey team there for high school.  After high school my brother joined the Navy, got stationed in Italy, and played for an Italian ice hockey team.  He now goes to the University of TN and guess what? He plays on their ice hockey team.

 

Growing up in VA the dominant ice hockey team was the Washington Capitols. The Tampa Bay Lightning, who I’ve learned to love and gone to many games since moving to FL two years ago, played the Capitols last night and shut them out :).  Way to go Lightning!!!  This means they remain at the top of the SE region.

(I don’t know why my teeth are different colors. I swear they are not in real life!)

In running news, I got something exciting in the mail the other day:

My camelbak! Yay. $23 from Amazon.  I drink a lot when I run. I don’t see how some people can go five or more miles without water. I usually carry a water bottle but after running 8+ miles with it, it starts to feel like it’s weighing me down. Even though I know it’s really not. So I figured this would be a better way to keep water with me at all times while running. I read a lot of reviews and decided to go with the Camelbak over the water belt. Hopefully  I will get to test it out tomorrow or Saturday.

Today is my long day. Class from 2pm to 8 pm. Yuck.

 

 

About runningthrough2011

I'm an epidemiologist with a recent 55 pound weight loss and a new love for running. My goal to stay motivated in 2011 is to do one race a month for the entire year. Welcome to my page!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

