“Resolutions”

Now that I no longer feel like death it’s time to post my goals for the year.  Usually I make goals by semesters however, this is my last semester in school (!!!!!) so I decided to make goals for the whole year.  I guess I’m jumping on the resolution bandwagon. But first, my inspiration board:

So in no particular order here are my 2011 resolutions:

1. Compete in 1 race per month

Self explanatory.  For January I am looking at a 5-miler in Clearwater that goes over the bridge I am dreading for my half in April. It will be good practice.

2. Run three times/week

This is easier said than done when it’s freezing outside. Lately, Florida weather has been gorgeous but I know that the cold will creep back in sooner or later. Since I am graduating in May and have no ideas or expectations of where my career will take me, I need to learn to run in all weather conditions.

3. Set out time to stretch daily

After an IT-Band issue and 3 months off of running this summer I learned the hard way how important it is to stretch….even if it’s just 5 minutes a day.

4. Get Straight As this semester

I don’t think this will be a problem. 😉 I’m a smart girl.

5. Fill out Job applications every week and secure a job by May.

After hearing all kinds of horror stories about not being able to find a job I am determined to put myself out there as much as I can in order start my career.

6. Workout 6 days a week.

Since the beginning of November my workout schedule has taken a beating. I have had friends visit me from VA in November, Thanksgiving, Exams, Christmas, New Years, and another friend to visit. I have put on about 5 pounds which is noticeable on a 5’2 frame and I’d like to get back to my pre-holiday weight and fitness level.

7. Eat more vegetables.

8. Take my pugs to the park every Sunday

9. Work on being more laid back

I admit, sometimes I can have a temper. Most of the time it’s stress induced from school. For this goal I will be exploring coping techniques. Caitlin at Healthytippingpoint.com just posted some which I think are great.

10.  Get my “special project” (secondary data analysis) published.

This will be an excellent boost to my resume. Enough said.

About runningthrough2011

I'm an epidemiologist with a recent 55 pound weight loss and a new love for running. My goal to stay motivated in 2011 is to do one race a month for the entire year. Welcome to my page!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “Resolutions”

  1. Good goals! I was thinking of doing a race every month, but I’m moving and the city I’m moving to doesn’t have many local races. I think it’s a great goal, though! Good luck!

Leave a Reply

