Aflac Iron Girl Half Marathon 2011

Workout: Ran 4 miles 37:58

No exercise yesterday.  Instead I slept for twelve hours, watched the entire season 1 of Dexter on Netflix, and made lasagna.  Yep, one of those days.

I am officially signed up for a half marathon in April.  The Iron girl half in Clearwater, FL.  I ran the 5k last year and they also offered a 15k.  The half is replacing the 15k this year.  Registration is only $35 dollars until Dec. 19th so go sign up now if you want to run it!! Otherwise I think it’s around $85!!

I’m a little nervous about this race because I think it will go over the Memorial Causeway=huge hill.

Source: http://www.tampabay.com/news/business/tourism/article891781.ece

I have planned my races in 2011 until May.  I graduate in May with a Master’s and I’m not really sure where I will be heading for a job.

Here it is:

January: 10k

February: Gasparilla half marathon

March: 10k

April: Aflac Iron Girl Half Marathon

May: 5k

Looks like I’ll be doing some hills to prepare for this:

Source http://blog.stormwarning4.com/?cat=1&paged=2

How do you feel about hills? Love them? Hate them?

I’m off to get some stuff done before a Christmas party tonight.  Ciao.

About runningthrough2011

I'm an epidemiologist with a recent 55 pound weight loss and a new love for running. My goal to stay motivated in 2011 is to do one race a month for the entire year. Welcome to my page!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Aflac Iron Girl Half Marathon 2011

  1. I live in a super flat area, so hills are a foreign concept to me! Good luck with your races!

  2. lifeisbeachykeen says:

    Ugh, the Memorial Causeway is a beast.

    I ran over it for the Say No to Kids 10k. The good thing about that causeway is that it is kind of a slow and steady incline. My friend and I ran over the causeway that goes from Clearwater beach to Sand Key park, and that was a monster, it was horrible. It was a steep, quick incline. We both agreed that Memorial was a little easier to tackle. I finished that 10k in 53:21, about a minute slower than another 10k that was on a completely flat course.

    If you want to do some hills you could try out the Ream Wilson trail in Clearwater. You can park right off of Mcmullen booth road. If you come from 60 and turn on McMullen booth the parking is on the right hand side of the road. That is a hilly trail. I ran a 10k & a 15k on that trail.

  3. Awesome, thanks for the advice.

Leave a Reply

